Jo Bayes    MPhil student (International) - submitted June 2013

jo.bayes@uqconnect.edu.au

Microbe-sponge interactions and the animal immune system

(primary supervisor)




Jaret Bilewitch    PhD student (International; UQ Research scholar)

jaret.bilewitch@uqconnect.edu.au

The evolution, function and phylogenetic utility of the octocoral MutS gene

(primary supervisor)



Jabin Watson   PhD student (APA scholar)

jabin.watson@uq.net.au

Bioactive compounds from the demosponge Amphimedon queenslandica

(Associate supervisor)




Daniel Stoupin    PhD student (International Research scholar)

daniel.stoupin@uqconnect.edu.au

Effects of bacterial cells on sponge cell behaviours

(primary supervisor)





Ben Yuen    PhD student (International Research scholar)

benedict.yuen@uqconnect.edu.au

Innate immune regulation of interactions between the sponge Amphimedon and its bacterial symbionts.

(primary supervisor)





Bec Fieth    PhD student (Australian Postgraduate scholar)

rebecca.fieth@uqconnect.edu.au

Host-microbe interactions during metamorphosis in the sponge Amphimedon queenslandica

(primary supervisor)





Simone Higgie    PhD student (Australian Postgraduate scholar) simone.higgie@uqconnect.edu.au

Lateral gene transfer in the Amphimedon genome

(primary supervisor)

Sandie Degnan Current Lab Members

UNDERGRADUATE STUDENTS

RHD STUDENTS

HONOURS  STUDENTS  (primary supervision)

Tahsha Say   Honours student

tahsha.say@uqconnect.edu.au

The role of Toll-like receptors in detecting suitable larval settlement sites via recognition of bacteria

POSTDOCS

Dr Kerry Roper    Postdoctoral research assistant, Lab Manager

k.roper@uq.edu.au

Circadian gene expression through the Amphimedon life cycle

On Maternity Leave until February 2014




Dr Selene Fernadez Valverde 

uqslizbe@uq.edu.au

Bioinformatic analysis of Amphimedon and associated microbial genomes and transcriptomes




Dr Maely Gauthier    Postdoctoral Research Associate

m.gauthier@uq.edu.au

Functional genomics of bacterial symbionts of the coral reef sponge Amphimedon queenslandica